I’m Back, But Maybe At Half Speed

Thankfully I have gotten through the first major hurdle, by passing a state exam, and now will regain some time to begin writing again.  However, not knowing the whole program I am embarking on, I may have another 5 or 6 weeks of training to go through which may render me with little time to blog, much less time to sleep!  We shall see.  However, I am antsy to get back to my book review.  I still need to purchase a book to complete my review on Chapter 5 by Greg Beale, The Revelation on Hell.  Of course, the book review I am in the middle of is on the book Hell Under Fire. 

I have finished reading and made notations on Chapter 6, written by one of the General Editors Christopher Morgan, entitled Biblical Theology: Three Pictures of Hell.  Rather than stall my review by waiting on a book for chapter 5 to read and gain deeper insight from regarding Greg Beale’s views of the end-times and revelation to John, I will continue publishing subsequent chapters.  I hope I will be able to purchase the book I need soon.  Anyway, Chapter 6 should be out hopefully no later than Sunday this week, 2013-07-07.  Tipping my hand a bit, I was a bit stunned at the irrelevance of this chapter to anything that really seems to matter theologically regarding salvation and hell.  This book could definitely have done without this chapter.  I will explain why in my full review.

To wet your appetite a little more, here is the beginning of the review I am currently working on:

In the first paragraph of his chapter, Biblical Theology:  Three Pictures of Hell, General Editor of this work, Christopher Morgan, states,

This chapter endeavors to provide a basic overview of the New Testament teaching on hell with the goal of uncovering its primary depictions.  There is no need to supply a thorough exegesis of the major New Testament passages on this topic because Robert Yarbrough, Douglas Moo, and Gregory Beale have already provided that in their chapters.  In addition, no attempt will be made to interact significantly with the Old Testament teaching on hell since that has already been successfully accomplished in Daniel Block’s chapter.  Rather the focus here is threefold – to summarize the teaching on hell as portrayed by each New Testament author…to show how three predominant pictures of hell (punishment, destruction, and banishment) emerge from this survey, and to offer some proposals for interpreting these three pictures.

Will Morgan hit his target?  Hmmm?  We shall see!  Until then, stay tuned and love God more!

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Reviews, Hell, Universal salvation

Leave a Reply

