What Do You Say When…

What do you say when someone quotes Romans 5:21, “Yet law came in by the way, that the offense should be increasing.  Yet, where since increases, grace superexceeds.”?  Do you truly believe what Paul wrote there?  If you say you believe it, does the belief only exist in your mind, or does it actually come out in your life actions?

My first question when I read this text years ago was this:  If grace increases when we sin, why not go out and sin a lot so we could see the grace of God in huge measure?  Under it all, I knew from my being raised in the church for a number of years, that sin was bad and there has to be something to deny this text, something to refute it.  And then I read into Romans 6 and was relieved to find the refutation for this dilemma.  In Romans 6:1-2 Paul says, “What, then, shall we declare?  that we may be persisting in sin that grace should be increasing?  May it not be coming to that!”

Have you ever had anyone ask the question from Romans 6:1?  I haven’t.  If anyone would, they would certainly be swiftly brought through the rest of the text without thinking, to stomp out the thought that we should sin that grace increase.  We would (and I have with some!) immediately scare them with the thought of what the wages of sin are (death) and that death includes eternal torment in hell forever if you don’t accept Jesus as your personal Savior and give up sinning as much as you possibly can!

But, the fact of the matter is still, where there is much sin, there is much, much, much more grace than we could imagine from God!  If I would have ever told my parents that Iwas sinning so grace could superexceed or super abound over that sin, I would have been shown what more sin really brings (pain in the backside!).  The problem for Christians is this; Romans 6:1-2 does not negate the FACT of Romans 5:21.  Does Romans 6:1-2 actually say that where sin excels, grace does not exceed it abundantly?  NO!

Since I want to split my thoughts on this topic into several posts, I will leave it to you the reader:  How do you answer these texts?  Does Romans 6 cancel Romans 5?  For Christians, should we sin for grace to abound?  Why or why not?  Does Paul go on in the succeeding texts promote legalism or grace?  Let’s talk about this over the next few posts.  I look forward to your thoughts.  There is an understanding of this text that is both biblical and stunning and I will reveal my thoughts and beliefs on these texts soon.  My view will shock the average Christian, but, I caution you to take it very slow and think before you jump to using the H-word (heretic)!  Until next time, keep the comments flowing as we dialog to find the truth.

In Christ’s love,

Craig

Leave a comment

Filed under Grace

Leave a Reply

